AIADMK announces candidates for Rajya Sabha polls

January 23, 2014 02:37 PM

Chennai, Jan 23 

Ruling AIADMK general secretary and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa Thursday announced her party's candidates for the Feb 7 Rajya Sabha elections, and said her party would support the CPI-M's candidate.

In a statement issued here, Jayalalithaa said the party has nominated S. Muthukaruppan, N. Chinnadurai, L. Sasikala Pushpa and Vijila Sathyanand as its four candidates for the Rajya Sabha seats.

She also said the party would support the CPI-M's candidate in the polls following its request.

A delegation of CPI-M leaders met Jayalalithaa Jan 21 and sought the AIADMK's support for their candidate.

The election for the seats from the state in the upper house is slated next month as the terms of N. Balaganga (AIADMK), T.K. Rangarajan (CPI-M), G.K. Vasan and Jayanthi Natarajan (both Congress), Vasanthi Stanley and A.A. Jinnah (both DMK) come to an end in April.

Trichi N. Siva, a former Rajya Sabha member and DMK's candidate for the election, filed his nomination Jan 21.



Have something to say? Post your comment
Copyright © 2012 Calgary Indians All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy